black, white, and summer heat

{Top, Thrifted; Skirt, Random Boutique; Shoes, Aldo; Rosary Necklace, Forever 21; Bandeau, Free People}

Remember what I said about June Gloom? Well I’m eating my words now. A heat wave has swept over southern California, which definitely has its pros and cons.

Pros:
+ I get woken up by the sun instead of my alarm clock; there’s nothing like slowly being pulled out of dreams by a stream of sunlight
+ I can go to the beach from 9AM to 6PM without ever getting cold
+ I get to wear backless tops and bandeaus like this one

Cons:
-My wardrobe is growing smaller and smaller as I’m limited to heat-tolerant pieces
-Staying in the sun all day leaves me with little energy for other aspirations
-Even in outfits like this one, sweating is inevitable (not cute)

Another thrift store purchase, I love this top for it’s open, bedazzled back. Whenever I put it on I can’t help but think “business in the front, party in the back”. I’m aware it might be sac-religious to buy a rosary at Forever 21, but I think all rosaries are beautiful. I love the 80’s Madonna-vibe this one adds.




What outfits do you turn to in sweltering summer heat?

bloglovin

This entry was posted in My Outfits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to black, white, and summer heat

  1. MelRod says:

    OMG!! i absolutely love this outfit! I want it! 🙂 Totally my style.

    melrod

    http://www.melrod1206.wordpress.com

  2. Love the outfit. You look like Jessica Lowndes. =)

  3. Diana says:

    adorable! i totally agree that as the weather gets hotter, my wardrobe gets smaller. thank you so much for your comment! i hope you’ll keep visiting me (and follow!) – loving your blog :}

    http://dressedupallligators.blogspot.com/

  4. Sari says:

    cute outfit!

    sarissweetlife.blogspot.com

  5. Ashley says:

    Hahahaha, this is totally a mullet shirt! But way better looking then a mullet, obvi. I try and wear clothes that breathe and I try to avoid sleeves. Its a heat wave in nyc now and I’m on the verge of running out of things to wear in this weather!

    xoxo, Ashley

  6. Kelly says:

    Beautiful photos! I love that white tank top the back detail is sweet!
    And sweating is definitely NOT cute!
    Great blog, following via bloglovin! Hope you can follow me back! 🙂

    Kelly

  7. Joanna says:

    I love this summer outfit! And I’m more than a little jealous that you get to bask in the sunshine while I freeze my royal ass off in San Francisco’s gloomy July weather. Who cares if your closet gets smaller, that makes it easier to get dressed in the morning!

  8. Jamie-Lee says:

    puuuuurfect!! Hmm… my go-to outfit in the summer is a lacy bra underneath an a.wang white tank with levi cut-offs and a tan belt. ohh and sandals.

    http://pagesixxx.blogspot.com/

  9. HC! says:

    i love the back of your top! it makes me think of that phrase too haha.
    hautecalifornian.blogspot.com

  10. nadalyn says:

    this is a REALLY cute outfit!

  11. Deanna says:

    in the sweltering heat I turn to off the shoulder loose tops and short shorts.
    cute outfits! i looove your blog. i love that you have HQ pics along with your writing.
    thanks for commenting on mine. : )
    hope we can be blogger friends, since we’re neighbors. lol

    http://acaliforniadreamer.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

